Trick-or-treaters who are 13 years old or older could face up to six months behind bars in Chesapeake, Virginia. In addition, trick-or-treaters of any age who are out past 8 p.m. can be fined anywhere from $25 to $100. They can even get up to 30 days in jail. Those are just some of the insane-sounding local statutes in Virginia's Hampton Roads region that are going viral after local website hrScene.com published a list of "local trick-or-treat times, laws and guidelines" on Monday. However, cops in the area may not be planning to follow the laws to the letter. When one mom asked about the "scary Halloween laws" on Facebook, the York-Poquoson sheriff's office replied, "No one is going to jail in York County for trick or treating. We will post some information as we get closer to Halloween."
Content Goes Here